## Nevada Gaming Commission Regulation 22.080 – Current as of August 27, 2020

## 22.080 Payment of winning wagers.

- 1. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, books shall make payment on a winning wager to the person who presents the patron's copy of the betting ticket representing the wager. A book need not make payment to a person who the book or an agent or employee of the book knows is not the person to whom the patron's copy was issued. A book shall not make payment on a winning wager to a person who the book or its agent or employee knows or reasonably should know is collecting the payment on behalf of another for monetary consideration or in violation of federal law. A book may withhold payment of a winning wager if the patron refuses to supply identification or any other documentation required by state or federal law.
- 2. Presentment of the betting ticket and payment of the winning wager may be made at an affiliated book provided that:
  - (a) An adequate accounting of the payment is kept for 5 years by both books; and
- (b) The payout is properly included in the computation of gross revenue of the licensee that initially accepted the wager.
- 3. Books shall honor winning betting tickets for 1 year after the conclusion of the event wagered upon unless a longer period is established by the book. The book shall state the redemption period on each betting ticket, in house rules and on notices conspicuously placed about the licensed premises. Payment by mail may be made only after presentment of the betting ticket and all identification information and documentation required by state or federal law, and must be made not later than 10 days after presentment. A book may accept a photocopy of a driver license or passport in lieu of an actual driver license or passport when presentment of the betting ticket is made by mail. Books shall maintain the information and documentation presented for a period of 5 years.

## [Effective through November 19, 2020.]

- 4. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a licensed race book shall determine the winners of or payouts on wagers on horse and other animal races only with information the book receives from licensed disseminators pursuant to Regulations 20 and 21. A licensed race book may determine the winners of or payouts on wagers on horse and other animal races based on nationally televised broadcasts if:
- (a) The book files a request with the Chair, at least 7 calendar days prior to the races taking place, for permission to determine the winners of specific races based on nationally televised broadcasts;
  - (b) The book shows the nationally televised broadcast of the races live at the book;
- (c) The book ensures an employee of the book, other than a betting ticket writer, monitors the nationally televised broadcast, records the outcome of the races with the conclusion of each race, and records the time the outcome of each race occurred; and
- (d) The Chair, upon a finding that the request is consistent with the public policy of the State of Nevada as set forth in NRS 463.0129, approves the request subject to any limitations or conditions the Chair deems appropriate.
- → The Chair may rescind approval of a request upon written notice to the book.

## [Effective November 20, 2020.]

4. A licensed race book shall determine the winners of or payouts on wagers on horse and other animal races only with information the book receives from licensed disseminators pursuant to Regulations 20 and 21.

(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 9/1/85. Amended: 6/86; 7/87; 11/98; 9/05; 5/17; 4/18; 1/19; 8/20.)