Gaming Employee Registration Questions and Answers Revised 5/2025

General Questions and Answers ("Q & A") for Gaming Employee Registrations/Work Cards

- 1. Do I need an attorney?
 - a. No, but you can retain an attorney yourself. Remember, the Nevada Gaming Control Board ("Board") **cannot and will not** provide legal advice or strategy. This entire website is for informational purposes only and should be used as a starting point, not as legal advice or strategy.
 - b. This is not a criminal proceeding. An attorney will not be provided to you by the Board. Of course, you can seek your own counsel.
 - c. If you believe you qualify for pro bono services, you may want to try one of the following:
 - i. Southern Nevada
 - 1. Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada: 702-386-1070
 - 2. Nevada Legal Services: 702-386-0404, Ext. 129
 - ii. Northern Nevada
 - 1. Washoe Legal Services: 775-329-2727
 - 2. Nevada Legal Services: 775-284-3491, Ext. 210
 - iii. Rural Nevada
 - 1. Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans: 1-866-448-8276
 - 2. Nevada Legal Services: 775-753-5880
 - iv. Pro Bono Brochure for Attorneys
 - 1. Click this link.
- 2. What are some of the laws involved?
 - a. See the Board's website for most of the statutes and regulations pertaining to Gaming Employee Registration by clicking here.
 - b. Some often used laws (but not all) are:
 - i. NRS 463
 - ii. Regulation 5
- 3. I received a job offer from a casino and filed a Gaming Employee Registration ("GER") application with the Board. What do I do now?
 - a. That is outside the scope of the Office of Hearings Examiner.
 - b. If it has been less than 120 days, the Enforcement Division may still be reviewing your registration.
 - c. Generally, you will only receive a letter ("Objection Letter") from the Enforcement Division if they object to your registration.
 - d. To get a status check, please call the Enforcement Division at 702-486-2020 (Southern Nevada) or 775-823-7250 (Northern Nevada).
- 4. I have been terminated from my job. My employer said that it was because they received a letter from the Board's Enforcement Division related to my gaming employee registration application. What happened?

- a. The Board's Enforcement Division has objected to your gaming employee registration. When that happens, a letter is sent to you and to your employer. If you have not received a letter from the Enforcement Division, you can contact the Enforcement Division to get an update (see step #3(d) above for their phone numbers).
- b. If you have moved, it is your responsibility to provide the Board with an updated address. You should do so as soon as possible because there may be time-sensitive action required.
- c. The Objection Letter states what rights you have for an appeal.
- 5. My registration has been objected to by the Enforcement Division. How do I appeal?
 - a. If you choose to appeal the Enforcement Division's decision to object to your registration, you can file an appeal with the Hearings Office. Please read the letter attached to the Objection Letter to see how to file the appeal. If you no longer have the letter please call the Enforcement Division at 702-486-2020 to get another copy.
 - b. You must file a "request" for a hearing to appeal your objection. Click <u>here</u> to access the form, complete the form, and follow the submission instructions located at the bottom of the form.
 - c. You have 60 days from the date of the Enforcement Division's Objection Letter to file an appeal with this Office. The appeal must be physically received by the Board within 60 days. (NRS 463.335). You can walk the request in, mail it in, or email the Hearings Office. See the Hearings Office contact information for more details.
 - d. If you fail to timely request an appeal, you will have to wait one year before another hearing can be scheduled.
 - e. It is your responsibility to keep your address updated with the Board.
 - The Board is only required to mail the Objection Letter and any correspondence to the last known address on file. If you move and do not provide a current address, your appeal rights may be barred for a year if it is filed after the 60 days. (NRS 463.335)
- 6. I have sent in a request for a hearing within the relevant time limit. What do I do now?
 - a. The Board does not provide legal advice or strategy.
 - i. If you require counsel, you must seek one yourself.
 - b. You must prepare for your hearing.
 - c. You are responsible for acquiring and providing all witnesses, exhibits, or other evidence at the hearing.
 - d. A scheduling letter will be sent to you in the mail/email with the time and date of the appeal hearing.
 - e. Remember, this hearing will be your only chance to provide evidence as to why you should receive your gaming registration back. No new evidence will be taken at any other hearing or meeting (e.g. Nevada Gaming Commission or District Court).
- 7. What to expect at the hearing?
 - a. One of the issues with Applicants is that they either lie, tell half-truths, or neglect certain details about their past. Be truthful.
 - i. The Hearings Examiner can assess the Applicant's credibility. This means if the evidence is contrary to the Applicant's testimony, the Hearings Examiner can deem the Applicant as being untruthful.

- ii. YOUR REGISTRATION CAN BE DENIED FOR BEING UNTRUTHFUL OR DEEMED TO HAVE BEEN UNTRUTHFUL.
- iii. In summary, tell the complete truth.
- b. The Hearings Examiner will preside and introduce parties.
- c. The Enforcement Agent will testify first. The Applicant will be allowed to ask the Agent questions about why their registration was objected to.
- d. The Hearings Examiner will have questions throughout.
- e. Closing statement by the Applicant.
- f. Closing remarks by the Hearings Examiner
- g. NO decision will be made at the hearing. The Hearings Examiner has 45 days to get an order, signed by a Board Member, mailed to the last known address of the Applicant.
- 8. The hearing is over. The Hearings Examiner stated what would happen next, but I forgot. What should I expect now?
 - a. The Hearings Examiner will prepare a recommendation to present to a designated Board Member. That Order will be mailed to the Applicant within 45 days of the hearing.
 - b. If the objection is sustained, you may file an appeal with the Nevada Gaming Commission.
 - c. The appeal to the Commission must be filed within 15 days of receiving the Order.
- 9. I had a hearing before and the objection was sustained. I believe that I should be reinstated into the gaming industry. What should I do?
 - a. Read your order from the last hearing. On the first page, in the caption, there should be wording that states that your last hearing was a NRS 463.335 hearing or a Regulation 5.109 hearing.
 - i. If it was a NRS 463.335 hearing, you have to wait at least one year before you can request another hearing.
 - ii. If it was a Regulation 5.109 hearing, you must wait either 5 years or a shorter amount of time, if it was stated on the order you received.
 - iii. If you do not understand when you can re-apply for another hearing, please contact this Office.
 - b. If enough time has elapsed, you must follow steps 5 and 6 above again to request another hearing, as only another hearing or meeting with the Board or Commission can reverse an initial objection, as objections are permanent until reversed.
- 10. It has been at least a year since my gaming registration was objected to, but I would like to get my registration back. What should I do or expect?
 - a. You must file for another hearing with this Office.
 - b. See #5 above.
 - c. Submit the form physically or access the form here, complete the form, and follow the submission instructions located at the bottom of the form.
 - d. You must file the request either in person, by mail, or by email. See the form for contact information.
- 11. I sent in my request (from #10 above) for another hearing, now what should I expect?
 - a. After you file your request, you will receive a letter asking for the following to be mailed or walked in:
 - i. An Updated Background Information form

- 1. Once completed, the form allows you to update the Board regarding certain information (e.g. employment, arrests, etc.) since your last hearing.
- ii. A fingerprint waiver form.
 - 1. This form allows the Board to request your arrest history from the FBI.
- iii. A fingerprint authorization form.
 - 1. You must complete a new set of fingerprints so that an updated criminal arrest record can be requested from the FBI and local law enforcement.
 - 2. The authorization form will include instructions on how to complete your fingerprinting and where to go.
 - 3. The Board prefers that electronic fingerprints be done. However, if the location cannot provide electronic fingerprints, a physical set of fingerprints will be required to be returned to the Board.
 - a. **<u>IF</u> physical fingerprints are required, you will also have to include a \$39.00 cashier's check to "Nevada DPS" with your packet.
- b. Once you return the above 3 items, you will receive a letter with the date and time of your hearing after your background investigation is complete. Please note this can take up to 4 months by statute.