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20.005 General.  The Chair may waive one or more of the requirements of this regulation if the Chair 
determines the waiver is consistent with the state policy set forth in NRS 463.0129. 

(Adopted: 1/11.) 
 

20.010 Definitions.  As used in this regulation: 
1. “Chair” means the Chair of the Nevada Gaming Control Board or the Chair’s designee. 
2. “Buyer” means a person who receives horse or other animal racing information within the State of 

Nevada from a disseminator by means other than a live broadcast, and who uses the information to 
determine winners of or payoffs on wagers accepted at a race book operated by the buyer. The term is not 
applicable to a person who receives services related to pari-mutuel wagering activity applicable to 
Regulation 26A. 

3. “Live broadcast” means “live broadcast” as that term is defined in NRS 463.4212. 
4. “User” of a live broadcast means “user” as that term is defined in NRS 463.4218. 
(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 8/1/85. Amended: 7/87; 1/11.) 

 
20.020 License required; finding of suitability for a person providing transmission services; 

applications. 
1. Applications for disseminator licenses submitted pursuant to NRS 463.430, or applications for a 

finding of suitability submitted pursuant to NRS 463.168 by a person providing transmission services in 
association with a disseminator, must be made, processed, and determined in the same manner as 
applications for nonrestricted gaming licenses, using such forms as the Chair may require or approve. 

2. Except as provided in subsection 3, no person who owns, controls, or has any interest of any kind 
in a company or other enterprise that must hold a disseminator license, nor any person who applies for or 
holds a disseminator license, nor any employee or agent of any such persons, may hold a gaming license. 

3. The Commission may grant a disseminator license to a person who holds a license to operate and 
who operates a race book or sports pool. A disseminator license issued to such a person authorizes the 
person: 

(a) To disseminate only live broadcasts; 
(b) To contract with not more than one track or association of tracks at a time for the purpose of 

disseminating live broadcasts; and 
(c) To disseminate live broadcasts from not more than one track at a time. 
(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 8/1/85. Amended: 7/87; 1/11.) 

 
20.025 Information regarding post time.  The disseminator who provides live broadcasts shall, for 

a reasonable fixed fee, or if otherwise required by any contractual agreement by and between the 
disseminator and buyer, provide the post times of such races to buyers as soon as the disseminator makes 
that information available to users. 

(Adopted: 7/87.) 
 

20.030 Rates and billings; user reports. 
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1. For live broadcasts of racing meets that were distributed within Nevada during the previous year, 
disseminators shall charge users a percentage of the amounts wagered at each user’s establishment on 
the live broadcast races, which must not exceed the lesser of the effective percentage rate of the previous 
year’s racing meet as increased by one half of 1 percent, or: 

(a) Three percent if the previous year’s average daily handle generated by such races at all users’ 
establishments did not exceed $150,000; 

(b) Two and three-fourths percent if the previous year’s average daily handle generated by such races 
at all users’ establishments was greater than $150,000 but did not exceed $250,000; 

(c) Two and one-half percent if the previous year’s average daily handle was greater than $250,000 
but did not exceed $350,000; 

(d) Two and one-fourth percent if the previous year’s average daily handle generated by such races at 
all users’ establishments was greater than $350,000 but did not exceed $450,000; 

(e) Two percent if the previous year’s average daily handle generated by such races at all users’ 
establishments was greater than $450,000. 

2. For live broadcasts of racing meets that were not distributed in Nevada during the previous year, 
or that were distributed but which are substantially different from the previous year’s meet, disseminators 
shall charge users a percentage of the amounts wagered in the users’ establishment on live broadcast 
races, which must not exceed three percent. 

(a) A racing meet may be considered to be substantially different from the previous year’s racing meet 
if: 

(1) The racing meet was broadcast during a substantially different time of the year the previous 
year; 

(2) The racing meet was broadcast during a substantially different time of the day the previous year; 
(3) The racing meet was modified to include new tracks; 
(4) The racing meet was modified to exclude tracks from which racing was previously broadcast; or 
(5) There has been a substantial increase or decrease in the number of racing days. 

(b) If the average daily handle generated by new or substantially different races at all users’ 
establishments is determined at the conclusion of the racing meet to exceed $150,000, the disseminator 
shall, not later than 60 days after the conclusion of the racing meet, determine the applicable percentage 
rate for that meet using the standards of subsection 1 and shall rebate to each user on a pro rata basis 
determined from each user’s handle, the amount of fees collected in excess of the amount that could have 
been charged pursuant to subsection 1 if the racing meet had been distributed the previous year or if it was 
not substantially different from the previous year’s meet. 

3. The Commission Chair may, in the Commission Chair’s sole and absolute discretion, permit a 
disseminator to charge users a percentage rate greater than that permitted by subsections 1 and 2 of this 
section, if the disseminator proposing to distribute the live broadcast and the users, who during the previous 
year generated at least sixty-six and two-thirds percent of the average total daily handle for a particular 
racing meet, file a petition with the Commission requesting that the rate be modified for that particular racing 
meet. The petition must state the rate the users agree to pay the disseminator and must be signed by the 
chief executive officer, or the chief executive officer’s designee, of each user supporting the petition. The 
petition must be filed prior to submitting a proposal pursuant to Regulation 21 for the exclusive right to 
disseminate a live broadcast for that racing meet. The petition must include an affidavit of mailing that sets 
forth the date of mailing and that certifies that a copy of the petition has been sent to all users and other 
disseminators. All users that have not signed the petition and other disseminators shall have 10 calendar 
days from the date set forth in the affidavit of mailing or by such date as specified by the Chair in which to 
file with the Commission any comments or opposition to the petition. The Commission Chair shall consider 
the interests of the users, the disseminators, and the state in determining whether the Commission Chair 
will approve a rate greater than that permitted by subsection 1 or 2 of this section. If the Commission Chair 
does not allow a different rate, the disseminator and users who have filed the petition may appeal that 
decision to the full Commission. The appeal must be filed with the Commission within 7 calendar days of 
the Chair’s decision or by such date as specified by the Chair. The appeal must include an affidavit of 
mailing that sets forth the date of mailing and that certifies that a copy of the appeal has been sent to all 
users and other disseminators. All users that did not sign the petition and other disseminators shall have 7 
calendar days from the date set forth in the affidavit of mailing or by such date as specified by the Chair in 
which to file with the Commission any comments or opposition to the petition. The decision of the 
Commission is final. 
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4. For services other than live broadcasts, disseminators shall charge buyers a fixed fee determined 
in advance. 

5. A disseminator shall not offer or provide a service to a buyer or user at a fee or a percentage rate 
different from that charged to every other buyer or user for the same service. 

6. Each disseminator shall regularly provide each of its buyers with a written statement of charges, 
separately identifying the services provided and the amount charged for each service. 

7. Each buyer and user shall file monthly with the Board a written report, itemized by track, of the 
amounts wagered at the buyer’s or user’s establishment of races and events for which a disseminator 
supplies the buyer or user with horse or other racing information used to determine winners of or payoffs 
on the wagers. These reports must separately disclose the amounts wagered and the resultant gross 
revenue on live broadcast races, pari-mutuel races and non-live broadcast/non-pari-mutuel races. Buyers 
and users shall file each report with the Board and users shall furnish a copy of each report to the 
disseminator not later than the 15th day of the month after the month covered by the report. If the Board at 
any time discovers discrepancies between amounts wagered at a buyer’s or user’s establishment and 
amounts charged or paid for disseminator services, the Board may so inform the buyer or user and 
disseminator. Each buyer and user shall permit its disseminator to examine such records of the buyer or 
user as are necessary to verify the accuracy of the buyer’s or user’s monthly reports. It shall be an 
unsuitable method of operation for any disseminator, except with the prior written approval of the Chair, to 
disclose to any person the contents of any report received or record examined pursuant to this subsection. 

(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 8/1/85. Amended: 5/87. Effective: 7/1/87. Amended: 7/31/87. Amended and 
effective: 12/14/88. Amended and effective: 1/27/11. Amended: 9/23.) 
 

20.040 Rate changes. 
1. Disseminators shall notify the Board and each affected buyer of any rate increase at least 30 days 

before the effective date of the increase, stating in detail the reasons for the increase. A buyer affected by 
a rate increase may, within 30 days after receiving notice of the increase, file written objections with and 
request a hearing before the Commission. The filing of an objection does not operate to stay the 
effectiveness of the rate increase, but the Chair may grant a stay on such terms and conditions as the Chair 
deems appropriate. The Commission may grant or deny the request for hearing at its sole and absolute 
discretion. 

2. If the Commission grants a buyer’s request for a hearing pursuant to subsection 1, the Commission 
shall give all buyers and disseminators written notice of the hearing at least 20 days in advance of the 
hearing. The notice must specify the time and place of the hearing and fairly summarize its purposes. 

3. At the hearing, all interested parties may be heard and may present evidence in support of or in 
opposition to the rate increase. 

4. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Commission may set or adjust the rates to be charged, 
determine the nature and extent of the services to be provided, order a refund, or take such other action as 
the Commission considers appropriate. The Commission shall make its determinations based upon the 
evidence and testimony presented at the hearing. The determinations of the Commission must be in writing 
and must specify the applicable rates and the effective dates of such rates or the amount of any refund. 

5. The determination of the Commission is final, binding, and conclusive upon the disseminator and 
all affected buyers. 

6. This section does not apply to a rate increase for a live broadcast. 
(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 8/1/85. Amended: 7/87; 1/11.) 

 
20.050 Disseminator reports. [Repealed: 1/27/11.] 

 
20.060 Records. 
1. Each disseminator shall maintain the following records with respect to each race or event regarding 

which the disseminator distributes information to a buyer or user: 
(a) The scheduled post time as supplied by the disseminator; 
(b) The actual post time as defined in Regulation 22; 
(c) The name, number, and official finishing position, as supplied by the track, of each entrant finishing 

in a position for which a payoff is made or offered; 
(d) The official payoff results; and 
(e) Such other information as the Chair may require. 
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2. Each disseminator shall comply with the recording and reporting requirements specified in 
Regulation 21.090. 

3. Each disseminator shall create and maintain a report indicating the name and address of each 
buyer, the date each buyer subscribed and canceled its subscription, if applicable, and the amounts 
charged each buyer for each service provided by the disseminator during the previous calendar quarter. 
This report must be created no later than 15 days after the end of the calendar quarter. 

4. Each disseminator shall create and maintain detailed schedules which depict the revenues, 
expenses, and results of operations for each live broadcast racing meet. 

5. Upon request, each disseminator, buyer, and user shall provide a written consent to the Board or 
Commission to examine and copy any and all records of any telephone, telegraph, or similar 
communications company or utility that may pertain to the operation of the disseminator, buyer, or user. 

6. Disseminators, buyers, and users shall create and maintain the records required by this regulation 
in such manner and using such forms as the Chair may require or approve. The Chair may require 
disseminators, buyers, and users to create and maintain such other records and reports as are necessary 
or convenient for strict regulation of disseminators, buyers, and users. Disseminators, buyers, and users 
shall preserve the records required by this regulation for at least 5 years after they are made. The Board 
may at any time examine and copy the records of any disseminator, buyer, or user. 

(Adopted: 7/85. Effective: 8/1/85. Amended: 7/87; 6/88; 1/11.) 
 

20.070 Reviewed financial statements. 
1. Each disseminator shall prepare financial statements covering all financial activities of the 

disseminator’s establishment for each business year. The financial statements must be submitted to the 
Board not later than 120 days after the last day of the disseminator’s business year. In the event of a change 
in business entity, or a change in the percentage of ownership of more than 20 percent, the licensee or 
former licensee shall, not later than 120 days after the event, submit to the Board one copy of reviewed 
financial statements covering the period since the period covered by the previous statement. If a change in 
business entity, or a change in the percentage of ownership of more than 20 percent occurs within 120 
days after the end of the business year for which a statement has not been submitted, the licensee may 
submit statements covering both the business year and the final period of business. In the event of a license 
termination, the Chair may require the disseminator to submit to the Board one copy of reviewed financial 
statements covering the period since the period covered by the previous financial statement. In the event 
a new license is granted within 120 days prior to the end of the business year, the licensee may submit 
financial statements for this period in conjunction with the financial statements for the first full business 
year, not later than 120 days after the end of the first full business year. 

2. Each disseminator shall engage an independent accountant who shall review the financial 
statements in accordance with the statements on standards for accounting and review services, or, if the 
Chair requires or the disseminator engages him or her to do so, the independent accountant shall audit the 
statements in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. 

3. Unless the Chair approves otherwise in writing, the statements must be presented on a 
comparative basis. Consolidated financial statements may be filed by commonly owned or operated 
establishments, but the statements must distinguish the activities of each establishment from those of the 
other establishments. 

4. If a disseminator changes its business year, the disseminator shall prepare financial statements 
covering the period from the end of the previous business year to the beginning of the new business year 
(the “stub” period). The disseminator shall submit the statements to the Board not later than 120 days after 
the end of the stub period or incorporate the financial results of the stub period in the statements for the 
new business year. 

5. Correspondence written in conjunction with the independent accountant’s review or examination of 
the disseminator’s financial statements must be submitted within 120 days following the end of the 
disseminator’s business year. 

6. All other correspondence from the independent accountant regarding internal control matters must 
be submitted to the Board within 30 days after the disseminator receives it. 

7. The Chair may request additional information or documents from either the disseminator or the 
disseminator’s independent accountant, through the disseminator, regarding the financial statements or the 
services performed by the accountant. 

(Adopted: 7/87. Amended: 1/11; 9/23.) 
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End – Regulation 20 


